New to Factory IO and need urgent help

Hello good morning beautiful people. I just joined this community yesterday and to be honest I have seen some great works from people here. I am a novice using factory IO and TIA portal, but I desperately want to learn I have built the below framework in factory IO it isn’t perfect, but it illustrates the idea. I want to build an automated warehouse that can split parcels to their storage location using RFID tags and the RFID reader sensor. To be honest I don’t know how to control it on TIA portal because i this is my first time ever working with this device. I want to learn how to do it and one day be able to do it myself. This is a very important project to me and I need help. If anyone can look through it and point me in the right directions I would really appreciate.

Automated Warehouse NEW design.factoryio (224.4 KB)

2 Likes

Hello there Martin, and welcome to the community.

Just in case that you weren’t aware, there’s a great Documentation on Factory IO that also lays out first steps on how to connect Factory IO and Siemens S7 CPUs.

Regarding your scene: looks good so far. The double-T splitting looks a little weird, I would normally use a similar setup as you have on the output-side of your warehouse (single line with split off), but that’s just a detail. What I am sure though is, that you will need some more sensors. As you currently only have a single sensor at the start of the line and then one sensor before the stacker crane. Everything in between will be run “blind”, which will hardly work.

In regards to help: please lay out where you are stuck and where you need help, as “I don’t know how to control it on TIA portal” is a pretty broad scope. We will gladly help if you need additional help in certain areas, and both @wayneschaefer (Youtube Playlist Part 1) and @paul.murray (Youtube Playlist) have multiple videos on their Youtube channels regarding the usage of Factory IO.

2 Likes