Status of conveyor

It would be nice to have the status of the conveyor when activated by the PLC, because it can be made dysfunctional / bypassed by FactoryTalk IO. The state can be run, forward, reverse or actual speed for the analog conveyor. This allows the PLC to detect the problem, but also if necessary, to interlock it

1 Like

Hi Patrick,

You can use sensors to detect if parts on the conveyor are moving.

You can also check the encoder feedback on the conveyor to get the speed info.

Not quite like having a conveyor system status but still a good feedback.

From which school are you ?

Frédérique

You understood, it is not like the auxiliary contact of a contactor (FactoryTalk IO Conveyor Feedback). Thank you for your recommendation.

For the school, it is Cegep de Jonquière, Quebec, Canada.

Patrick

Hi Patrick,

I did my PhD at Poly Montreal, so we were almost neighbors!

The conveyors have very small indicators on the rollers that show if they are moving, but it would be very nice if those indicators were more obvious. I think, however that you want an indicator to show the dirction the conveyor will move once it receives a signal? That does not exist.
Paul

The Idea is to get the status of the conveyor on an input of the PLC. Like a contactor that activated by PLC (Motor on screen), get the motor status (contactor auxiliary contact) at a PLC input.

This is because FactoryTalk IO software can interfere motor (contactor) and the feedback signal (contactor auxiliary contact) (Force On, Force Off). It’s not just a question of the image on the screen… we talk more about interlock, and status.

Thank you for your suggestions.

I’m not sure if I understood correctly.
You want a feedback from the conveyor that it is actually turning when your output tells it, that it should turn?