Can teach a whole classroom simultaneously .... how?

My question here is … how is this functionality organized or setup?
I’m new to the Factory I/O system and investigating a purchase of it.

I need to know more about this classroom setup.

Hi - I just finished a trial of Factory with my students. Because of some internal matters, I used separate laptops to run the simulation software although it would have been cleaner using computers with dual monitors. Because our PLCs were already networked interfacing was easy. I just used the canned scenes for programming and troubleshooting exercises. The student were very receptive to the simulation software and felt it enhanced their learning.

1 Like

Thanks.

In this trial, did you install a purchased version of Factory I/O on each laptop?
Or did you use the 30days free version and had it installed on each laptop?

If each laptop had its own version of Factory I/O, I still don’t recognize the simultaneously teaching aspect of it. How do you envision this?

I have a classroom equiped with about 15 desktops and a few laptops. For now it looks like the desktops are not meeting the hardware and/or software requirements to run Factory I/O.
So I’m looking for a solution to “teach this whole classroom simultaneously”.

For the trial I requested a 90 day trail for 8 laptops - FactoryIO was very agreeable to this. Each student had their own copy of FactoryIO to work with.

As for simultaneous teaching, I feel the software is best used in a lab environment where each student is working on their own project. I suppose you could use one computer and a projector to walk through writing a program for one of the simulation scenes but I think having the students work through the problem on their own (with educator assistance) is the best.

The program put a high load on the computer’s graphic recourses. On one of the laptops I tried, the GPU was max’ed out and everything ran excruciatingly slow.

1 Like