Is possible to use Factory I/O for a classroom as virtual laboratory?

To Whom it may concern,
I’m a computer engineer student of uninettuno university, and my university is going to make a virtual laboratory project when students can test and improve their abilities with simulator like this.
So, is there a way to make it possible ( possibly not using a Client-Server interface and using a web interface to use it ) ? if yes, what kind of edition is suggested? How we can make virtual laboratory with this software and what we need to know to set it as virtual laboratory?
Thanks for your help,
Best regards,
Lorenzo Cattaneo

@l.cattaneo1 Welcome to the forum. How do you intend to use it, remotely or locally?

Thanks a lot. We intended to use it remotely, possibily with web interface.

Factory I/O is a desktop application and cannot run directly on a web browser. Although today it’s possible to run 3D applications on a browser, there are some security challenges that are hard to overcome. For example, running drivers on a browser as we do in Factory I/O will not work due to security constraints.

However, some users resort to virtualization services in order to run Factory I/O together with PLC programming software (TIA Portal, Logix5000, …) remotely. As one possible solution, I would recommend that you take a look at Amazon AppStream 2.0.

Thanks for replies, I have two question about what you written me.

1. If we will choose amazon appstream option, we need to use external PLC however, or we can just use Factory I/O integrated PLCSIM??
  2. We could use PLC Simulator as you write me,but, are there low cost PLC simulator? Because I see Siemens and Logix, but there are no prices reported, so I think they are really expensive.